student scholarship awards

Alumni Association Executive Director J.C. Schnabl and Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Enku Gelaye present the Robert B. Collins SAA Scholarship to Victoria Audrey Liu '15. View photos of other 2014 awards recipients.

Student Awards Recipients

Student Awards and Scholarships


The UMass Amherst Alumni Association proudly recognizes its 2014 scholarship and award recipients and congratulates them on their outstanding academic achievements, leadership, and community service. Applications were accepted during the spring semester and committees, made up of alumni volunteers and administrators, selected the recipients.

Leaders in the Making
The Leaders in the Making Scholarship supports the pursuits of promising sophomores and juniors.  Recipients have diverse records of achievement in scholarship and volunteerism, and are student role models.

Avery Hennigar ’15*  Public Health Sciences, Psychology
Tana Bao ’16* Nursing  

Life Member Scholarship for Internships
The Life Member Scholarship for Internships was created by the Alumni Association to defray the costs of internships for UMass Amherst students.  The program was designed to support the academic and career pursuits of commendable students from diverse campus populations whose records suggest that they will develop into alumni with admirable leadership qualities upon graduation.

Marie MacCune ’17* Political Science, Legal Studies
Meagan Lawrence ’15 Kinesiology

Michael W. Morris Scholarship
The Michael W. Morris Scholarship helps make the dream of a UMass Amherst education a reality to worthy students from Lowell or Lawrence, MA. The scholarship is named in honor of Lawrence native and longtime UMass Amherst champion, Michael W. Morris '63, who served as president of the Alumni Association and remains a vital and active alumni ambassador. Applications are available to undergraduate students in the Lawrence and Lowell area during the spring semester.

Kelsey Barowich ’15   Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

Alumni Merit-Based Scholarship
The Alumni Merit-Based Scholarship recognizes a Student Alumni Association member who demonstrates outstanding leadership in the Student Alumni Association and within the larger university community.

Avery Stroman ’16* Industrial Engineering

Robert B. Collins '19 Student Alumni Association Scholarship
The Robert B. Collins '19 SAA Scholarship was established through a bequest to provide scholarship assistance to active members of the Student Alumni Association who also have strong academic records.

Victoria Audrey Liu ’15 Hospitality & Tourism Management, Economics

Mary Killeen Bennet '93 EdD Book Award
The Mary Killeen Bennett ’93 EdD Book Fund was established by the UMass Amherst Alumni Association in memory of the late Mary Killeen Bennett, a passionate advocate for UMass Amherst and leader in the Pioneer Valley. The fund provides financial support for graduates of public high school in the Pioneer Valley who are in their first year at UMass Amherst and unable to meet the anticipated cost of textbooks.

James Yanyuk Computer Science  
Ellisha Walker Undeclared

William F. Field Alumni Scholars
The William F. Field Alumni Scholars Program was established in 1976 to recognize and honor third-year students for their academic achievements at UMass Amherst.  The program was named in honor of William F. Field, the university’s first Dean of Students, for his outstanding support of academic excellence and his personal commitment to bringing out the best in every student.

Aaron Annan '15* Mechanical Engineering
Alexandra Bare '15* Chemistry
Olivia Beaulieu '15* Geology
Michael Bjorge '15* Computer System Engineering
Brenda Boguslawski '15 Nursing
Alexander Brown '15* Finance
Peter Cappiello '15 Journalism
Amanda Cortese '15 Nutrition
Vincent DeMaio '15 Hospitality & Tourism Management
Emily Dine '15 Sport Management
Adam Fearing '15 Landscape Architecture
Anthony Federico '15* Biochemical & Molecular Biology
Alison Foreman '15 Communication Disorders
Zachary Fox '15* Mathematics
Cristina Freitas '15 Sociology
Jennifer Friday '15 Finance
Kathryn Gale '15 Nursing
Elisheva Glater '15* Psychology
Olivia Guilmette '15 Communication Disorders
Nina Haddad '15* Social Thought & Political Economics 
Thomas Hanrahan '15 Finance
Kevin Harrington '15* Astronomy
Rachel Hilliard '15* Biology
Robert Hillson '15* Legal Studies
Shir Inbar '15* Finance
Rebecca Jankowski '15* Psychology
Derrek Joyce '15* Classics
Anna Korogodski '15 Nursing
Jaime Laurin '15* Kinesiology
Jaclyn LeBlanc '15* Kinesiology
Riddhi Lunkad '15* Operations & Information Management
Derek Luthi '15* Public Health Sciences
Ryan McGinty '15* Political Science
Devin Medrek '15* Accounting
Anna Meehan '15 English
Jonathan Ouimet '15* Accounting
Curtis Owen '15* Management
Dimitrios Panagakos '15 Food Science
Sahil Peris '15* Computer Science
Victoria Phu '15* Biology
Michael Pratt '15* Art History
Brian Quinn '15 Marketing
Jonathan Sanders '15* Comparative Literature
Jeanette Schaible '15 Public Health Sciences
Emily Scholz '15 Eastern Asian Studies
Marissa Shea '15* Civil Engineering
Marianne Sleiman '15* Chemical Engineering
Christopher Sowa '15 Finance
Courtney St. Onge '15 Kinesiology
Andrew Stranberg '15 Economics
Samya Stumo '15* Anthropology
Almog Tabak '15* Mathematics
Courtney Tolliday '15* Pre-Veterinary Science
Andrew Walfield '15* Microbiology
Hannah Weinronk '15* Public Health Sciences
Artur Wysoczanski '15* Music
Alexandra Young '15 Accounting
Kara Zoni '15 Communications

Senior Leadership Award
The Senior Leadership Award recognizes graduating seniors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the UMass Amherst community.  Award recipients have distinguished themselves through important contributions to student organizations and campus jobs, through academic excellence, and through public and community service.

Renee Barouxis ’14* Political Science
Joshua Hodge ’14* Electrical Engineering  
David Ke ’14* Individual Concentration
Keenan Mahan ’14*       Biochemical and Molecular Biology
Elizabeth Marcuse ’14 Public Health Sciences  
Samuel Mardell ’14* Science, Technology & Society
Joseph McNamara ’14 Nursing
Derek Monson ’14 Marketing

*denotes Commonwealth Honors College

Back to top